Stay

Accommodation in a holiday cottage : bed, room or whole cottage, Larzac near Millau

The Gite at Montredon du Larzac


You will be welcomed by Mary who will ensure your comfort.

Ideally located on the GR 71 D, in the heart of a lively hamlet of 13 inhabitants all year-round, the lodge is on 3 levels. Independent equipped kitchen, dining room/living room, 5 bedrooms, large south terrace, closed garage, outdoor car park, barbecues, large shady green spaces in front of the cottage with tables and benches. Stopover or longer stay, in free management or half-board, for individuals, families or groups (15 people max). One of the many attractions of the holiday cottage is to encourage meeting, living together, discovery of the other in its diversity. The cottage is labelled Gite de France 2 ears.

Traditional habitat, former "hunting house" of the early 20th century, then headquarters of Larzac University in the 1970s, the cottage has been regularly maintained by the C.I.R. (Association "Centre of Rural Initiatives") which owns it. Today, large openings allow light, heating and hot water (from 100% local and renewable energy) are produced by a collective biomass boiler that uses the Larzac Woods from the regulation of invasive species. Wastewater is treated by a collective phyto purification plant. We sort all our waste, the cleaning products are made by ourselves, from natural and non-polluting substances.

For your well-being, all doors and windows are equipped with mosquito nets. In summer, thanks to the very thick walls, it is very cool inside, in winter, walls keep the heat and you can make a wood fire just for fun !

In the living room, a library is there to feed all your desires, build your itineraries and satisfy your curiosity.

The kitchen is spacious, equipped with a professional cooking piano (5 lights/2 ovens), and all the necessary equipment, so if you choose free management, you can make your favorite dishes!

But if you wish, Marie will make you taste her tasty cuisine from local products and culinary traditions from here and elsewhere.
We're lucky, our neighbors are doing wonders!

Cardabelle

Spacious two-person room with bathroom (shower, sink), independent toilet, and relaxation area. 23m², 2nd floor

2 single beds 90/190 or 1 double bed 180/190

Panicaut

Room for 4 people with private bathroom (shower, sink) and independent toilet, 25m², 1st floor

4 single beds 90/190

Ancolie

Room for 2 people, shared toilets (2 showers, 4 sinks), 2 independent toilets ,10m², 1st floor

2 single beds 90/190

Orchidée

Room for 4 people, shared toilets (2 showers, 4 sinks), 2 independent toilets 17m², 1st floor

3 single beds 90/190 1 bunk bed

Coquelicot

Room for 3 people, shared toilets (2 showers, 4 sinks), 2 independent toilets, 13m², 1st floor

3 single beds 90/190

Outdoors, amenities and the hamlet

During your stay, don't hesitate to visit our hamlet ! You will discover, a few steps from the cottage, a collector roof that covers an outdoor cistern, rare example on the Causse of a "tank house" in good conditions, characteristic of Caussenard constructions, a small outdoor theatre and a bread oven that we use on Wednesday evenings during the farmers market, in the summer, in July and August. You will also see the vegetable garden whose resources are used to make meals in the cottage as much as possible and you will of course come across the sheep of Morgane and Clementine and the pretty Aubrac cows of Emmanuelle. And then you will go to the Roc de Montredon, at the foot of the mound which is one of the highest points of the North-Larzac. From here, a 360-degree view of all the surrounding areas : Pierrefiche, the rocky chaos of Montpellier le Vieux, Aubrac, Causse Noir, Mont Aigoual, Cévennes, Causse Méjean, Lévezou...

Rental of activity rooms nearby, contact the manager.

Luggage carrying for hikers, call directly :
05 65 62 71 73 : Transports Albagnac et Roger (at La Cavalerie)
06 73 00 53 58 : Millau Taxi

Séjourner

Hébergement en gîte : lit, chambre ou gîte entier sur le Larzac proche de Millau

Le Gîte à Montredon du Larzac


Vous serez accueillis par Marie qui veillera à votre confort.

Idéalement situé sur le GR 71 D, au cœur d'un hameau bien vivant de 13 habitants à l'année, le gîte est sur 3 niveaux. Cuisine équipée indépendante, salle à manger/pièce de vie, 5 chambres, grande terrasse plein sud, garage fermé, parking extérieur, barbecues, grands espaces verts ombragés devant le gîte avec tables et bancs. Accueil en étape ou en séjour, en gestion libre ou en demi-pension, d’individuels, de familles ou de groupes (15 personnes max). L’un des nombreux attraits du gîte d’étape et de séjour est de favoriser la rencontre, le vivre ensemble, la découverte de l’autre dans sa diversité. Le gîte est labelisé gîte de France 2 épis.

Habitat traditionnel, ancienne « maison de chasse » du début du 20ème siècle, puis siège de Larzac Université dans les années 70, le gîte a été régulièrement entretenu par le C.I.R. (Association "Centre d’Initiatives Rurales") qui  en est propriétaire.. Aujourd’hui, de grandes ouvertures laissent entrer la lumière, le chauffage et l’eau chaude (provenant d’énergie 100 % locale et renouvelable) sont produits par une chaudière collective à biomasse qui utilise les Bois du Larzac issus de la régulation des espèces invasives. Les eaux usées sont traitées par une phyto épuration collective. Nous trions tous nos déchets, les produits d’entretien sont fabriqués par nous-mêmes, à partir de substances naturelles et non polluantes.

Pour votre bien être toutes les portes et fenêtres sont équipées de moustiquaires. L’été, grâce aux murs très épais, il fait bien frais à l’intérieur, l’hiver, les murs gardent la chaleur et l’on peut faire un feu de bois juste pour le plaisir !

Dans la pièce de vie, une bibliothèque est là pour nourrir toutes vos envies, construire vos itinéraires et satisfaire votre curiosité.

La cuisine est spacieuse, équipée d’un piano de cuisson professionnel (5 feux/2 fours), et de tout le matériel nécessaire, ainsi, si vous choisissez la gestion libre, vous pourrez confectionner vos plats préférés !

Mais si vous le souhaitez, Marie vous fera déguster sa cuisine goûteuse issue de produits du terroir et de traditions culinaires d'ici et d'ailleurs.
Nous avons de la chance, nos voisins font des merveilles !

Cardabelle

Chambre spacieuse deux personnes avec salle d’eau (douche, lavabo), WC indépendants, et espace détente. 23m², 2ème étage

2 lits simples 90/190 ou 1 lit double 180/190

Panicaut

Chambre 4 personnes avec salle d’eau privative (douche, lavabo) et WC indépendants, 25m², 1er étage

4 lits simples 90/190

Ancolie

Chambre 2 personnes, sanitaires partagés (2 douches, 4 lavabos), 2 wc indépendants ,10m², 1er étage

2 lits simples 90/190

Orchidée

Chambre 4 personnes, sanitaires partagés (2 douches, 4 lavabos), 2 WC indépendants 17 m², 1er étage

3 lits simples 90/190 1 lit superposé

Coquelicot

Chambre 3 personnes, sanitaires partagés (2 douches, 4 lavabos), 2 WC indépendants, 13m², 1er étage

3 lit simples 90/190

Les extérieurs, les commodités et le hameau

Pendant votre séjour, n’hésitez pas à visiter notre hameau ! Vous découvrirez, à quelques pas du gîte, un toit collecteur qui recouvre une citerne extérieure, rare exemple sur le causse de « maison-citerne » en état, caractéristique des constructions caussenardes, un petit théâtre de plein air et un four à pain dont nous nous servons les mercredis soir de marché paysan, l’été, en juillet et en août. Vous verrez aussi le potager dont les ressources servent à la confection des repas du gîte autant que possible et vous croiserez bien sûr les brebis de Morgane et Clémentine et les jolies vaches Aubrac d'Emmanuelle. Et puis vous irez vous ressourcer au Roc de Montredon, au pied de la butte qui est un des points les plus hauts du nord-Larzac. De là, une vue à 360 ° sur tous les alentours : Pierrefiche, chaos rocheux de Montpellier le Vieux, Aubrac, Causse Noir, Mont Aigoual, Cévennes, Causse Méjean, Lévezou…

Location de salles d’activité à proximité, contacter la gérante.

Transport de bagages des randonneurs, appeler directement :
05 65 62 71 73 : Transports Albagnac et Roger (à La Cavalerie)
06 73 00 53 58 : MillauTaxi